Arbeitsgruppe Prof. Hillebrands

Welcome to the magnetism group!

We are dedicated to cutting-edge research in the field of magnonics and related areas combined with excellent teaching.

Magnonics is a subfield of spintronics, which addresses the utilization of the spin degree of freedom for applications in information and communication technologies. We study „magnetic waves“, which are spin waves and their quanta called magnons, and we address new fundamental phenomena and their potential for applications. A particular focus is on macroscopic quantum phenomena such as supercurrents and their utilization, as well as on the development of magnonic devices for the information technology.

Our research is embedded in the Collaborative Research Center 173 „Spin+X“ funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, as well as by several national, European and international projects. We offer opportunities for qualification in the frames of student assistantships, bachelor, master diploma and PhD projects in an international environment.



Burkard Hillebrands is President of EMA
The General Council of the European Magnetism Association (EMA) held its annual meeting in August 2019. Consistent with the statutes of EMA, the mandate of President Dino Fiorani came to an end. Dino Fiorani has been President for three years, since the very creation of EMA. Burkard Hillebrands, so far Vice-President, has been confirmed to become President of the association for the three years ahead. He will be assisted by Dino Fiorani, who will remain active in international networking, and Olivier Fruchart, who is the newly-elected Vice-President.[more]




Best Poster Award


Our poster "Separation of the two-magnon scattering contribution to damping for the determination of the spin mixing conductance", presented by Dr. Andrés Conca, has received a Poster Award at the Symposium of Magnetic Multilayers (MML 2019) in Madrid.





2018 Chinese Government Student Award


Our PhD student Qi Wang was awarded the “2018 Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-financed Students Abroad" which is considered as one of the highest student awards given by the Chinese government. The award ceremony took place at the Chinese Embassy in Berlin on Sunday, May 05, 2019.

News Archive

Recent Publications

Modification of spintronic terahertz emitter performance through defect engineering
D. M. Nenno, L. Scheuer, D. Sokoluk, S. Keller, G. Torosyan, A. Brodyanski, J. Lösch, M. Battiato, M. Rahm, R. H. Binder, H. C. Schneider, R. Beigang, E. Th. Papaioannou
Sci. Rep. 9, 13348 (2019)

Nanoscale spin-wave wake-up receiver
Q. Wang, T. Brächer, M. Mohseni, B. Hillebrands, V. I. Vasyuchka, A. V. Chumak, P. Pirro
Appl. Phys. Lett. 115, 092401 (2019)

Low damping magnetic properties and perpendicular magnetic anisotropy with strong volume contribution in the Heusler alloy Fe1.5CoGe
A. Conca, A. Niesen, G. Reiss, B. Hillebrands
AIP Adv. 9, 085205 (2019)

More Publications

comments to: qiwang(at)



Zum Seitenanfang