Department of Physics

Research areas and research groups

Ultrafast Phenomena at surfaces

Experimental Physics

Prof. Dr. Martin Aeschlimann

Foundations of quantum Physics

Theoretical Physics

Prof. Dr. James Anglin


Biophysics and ultrafast Spectroscopy

Experimental Physics

Prof. Dr. Rolf Diller


Theory of condensed matter and many body systems

Theoretical Physics

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Eggert


Theoretical quantum Optics

Theoretical Physics

Prof. Dr. Michael Fleischhauer 



Integrierte Optoelektronik und Mikrooptik

Experimental / Technical Physics

Prof. Dr. Henning Fouckhardt


Optical Technologies and Photonics

Technikal Physics 

Prof. Dr. Georg von Freymann



Experimental / Technical Physics

Prof. Dr. Burkard Hillebrands


Condensed Matter Theory

Theoretical Physics

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hübner 


Didaktik der Physik


Prof. Dr. Jochen Kuhn 


Biophysik und Quantensensorik


Jun.-Prof. Dr. Elke Neu-Ruffing



Physics and Technology of Nanostructures

Experimental Physics

Prof. Dr. Egbert Oesterschulze


Ultracold quantum gases and quantum atom optics

Experimental Physics

Prof. Dr. Herwig Ott


Ultrafast Dynamics of laser-excited Solids

Applied Theoretical Physics

Prof. Dr. Bärbel Rethfeld


Theoretische Halbleiteroptik und Quantenelektronik

Theoretical Physics

Prof. Dr. Hans Christian Schneider


Biophysik und Medizinische Physik

Experimental Physics

Prof. Dr. Volker Schünemann

Computersimulation und Materialwissenschaften

Technical Physics / Computersimulation 

Prof. Dr. Herbert M. Urbassek


Individual Quantum Systems

Experimental Physics

Prof. Dr. Artur Widera


Interfaces, Nanomaterials and Biophysics

Technikal Physics

Prof. Dr. Christiane Ziegler 

Zum Seitenanfang